Accessibility Tools

Cofield Award Recognizes Vail Team for Research on 10-year Outcomes of Bridging Double Row Rotator Cuff Repair

The Steadman Clinic

Dr. Adam M. Johannsen from the Steadman Philippon Research Institute in Vail, Colorado was recently presented with the Robert H. Cofield, M.D., Award from the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons (ASES). The award, presented during the 2020 ASES Fellows meeting, honored Dr. Johannsen and his seasoned team of orthopaedic researchers for their work on the long-term results of arthroscopic double-row transosseous- equivalent (TOE) rotator cuff repair (RCR).

In addition to Dr. Johannsen, the research team included Justin W. Arner, M.D., Bryant Elrick, M.Sc., Philip-C Nolte, M.D., Marilee P. Horan, M.P.H., and Peter J. Millett, M.D., M.Sc. Their work was titled, “Minimum 10-Year Outcomes of Primary Arthroscopic Transosseous-Equivalent Double Row Rotator Cuff Repairs.”

As indicated by the ASES, Dr. Cofield, a professor of orthopaedics at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, has dedicated his career to the “End-Result Idea,” including studies with good long-term follow-up, which can impact clinicians’ daily decisions.

  • AAOS
  • TRIA
  • St.Francis